The Marlowe Society
17 February 2015

2014 Hoffman Prize Winners Announced

Society Member Ros Barber Wins for Second Time

In January, the King's School in Canterbury announced that Marlowe Society member Ros Barber had been jointly awarded the twenty-fifth annual Calvin & Rose G Hoffman Prize for a distinguished publication on Christopher Marlowe. The joint winners were:

This is the second time that Ros Barber has won the Hoffman Prize, having also jointly shared the award in 2011 for her brilliantly innovative verse novel, The Marlowe Papers. All at the Marlowe Society offer Ros, Professor Maguire and Dr Smith our sincerest congratulations.

Following the very sad death of Professor Park Honan last year, the Hoffman Prize was adjudicated this year by Professor Alison Shell, Professor of Early Modern Studies at UCL.

The prize itself was established as a bequest by Calvin Hoffman, author of the 1955 book The Murder of the Man Who Was Shakespeare, which posited that Marlowe's death in Deptford in 1593 was in fact faked, and that he rather went on to write the works now attributed to Shakespeare. A substantial Trust Fund was set up that will be awarded to anybody who can produce "irrefutable" evidence that Marlowe was the real author.

In the meantime, an annual prize is also awarded for the essay that "most convincingly, authoritatively and informatively examines and discusses the life and works of Christopher Marlowe, and the authorship of the plays and poems now commonly attributed to Shakespeare". Both prizes are administered by the King's School, who appoint an appropriate adjudicator each year to make the judgement.

Other previous winners of the annual Prize have included Marlowe Society members Peter Farey in 2007 and 2012, Donna Murphy in 2010, and Society Vice-President Prof. Lisa Hopkins (1994). Other winners have included Prof. James Shapiro (Columbia University, also 1994), Prof. Jonathan Bate (University of Liverpool, 1995), Prof. David Riggs (Stanford University, 1998), and Prof. Michael Hattaway (University of Sheffield, 2001).

Tweets by @Marlowe_Society